Throwback Thursday – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 – The Best COD Game Ever?

I was playing Modern Warfare 2 and finally got my 10th nuke and with it the “end game achievement” after playing this game in doses with friends since 2011, which gave me the idea for this post. Having unlocked the achievement, I started reflecting about the game and how entertaining the experience has been compared to the other Call of Duty titles.

IMG_20150722_204914

Although becoming a major selling franchise as a star (high market share and high market growth) for Activision and Infinity Ward, sales have been recently decreasing as announced last December with a 27 percent drop from 2013. I think developers have saturated the franchise by releasing titles too recently that alterations have been made from what remains tied with Modern Warfare, for the officially highest rated COD game to present day, Modern Warfare 2 with a 94 out of 100 Metascore.

The following is why I think MW2 is the best in the Franchise:

Weapons
Most guns are overpowered which help create a diversity in scores and therefore skill to survive. Some players would complain about the noob tubing and one-man-army, but I personally think it makes the game more enjoyable. It isn’t spoilt by later weapons such as the holographic scope which reveals where players are behind walls.

Perks
Three perks are enough to help optimise classes and not hindered by having up to 9 in Ghosts, which simply means too many abilities, causing problems battling opponents because there are more ways to die such as “Amplify” in Ghosts which always frustrated players because the ability to use stealth was eliminated and the ridiculous ability to fly in Advanced Warfare which removes so much strategy.

Maps
Perhaps the most common complaint with COD games. I think MW2 has the best variety of maps with most being big, which is great when being tactically minded and pursuing killstreaks. One mini-map called “rust” is a highly fast paced match due to the constant noob tuning but is enjoyable because it is the only one.

Spawning
Probably the most frustrating aspect of COD. You die and then have no control over where you spawn and see some players quit when the opposing team has you spawn trapped! Thankfully this isn’t really an issue unlike many of the other titles such as MW3 which I can remember respawning and killed by the same player across maps or “Nuketown” when players killed would respawn behind the building you were in, leaving you surrounded by enemies.

Killstreaks
Once again, I think the simplicity keeps the game flowing at a decent pace without the irritation of machines added in MW3 which although was great fun playing with my flatmates at university on multiplayer, wasn’t online. Nukes were also a difficult challenge but provided so much gameplay trying to obtain.

Although the PC and PS3 versions are now plagued with hackers the Xbox version remains fine. I highly recommend it to anyone who hasn’t played it. Gameplay is still fun and the graphics haven’t aged much, so the next time you see this game on sale second hand, pick it up and enjoy. Alternatively, a petition has been launched for a remake which can be signed here.

What is your favourite COD title and why? Please comment below.

6 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 – The Best COD Game Ever?

  1. I’m so glad I read this. MW2 is definitely my favorite COD title. I personally like playing the campaign, it’s like an action movie I can’t stop watching…I’m actually thinking of doing a let’s play of the story mode soon, starting with COD4.

    I liked the multiplayer too, I had my most positive pvp experiences on this title.

    Again… Awesome read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot for reading! I agree, the storyline was excellent and as you’ve referred to like a film. That sounds like an excellent idea and I would love to watch them. I think people including myself don’t give the story modes the praise they deserve, so I think you would be reminding and introducing younger gamers about these games as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. COD Modern Warfare 2 was hands down the most enjoyable to play in many aspects, much of which are your reasons but I rarely played online. The campaign on solo and co-op was enjoyable and the enemies were plenty without having you overwhelmed. The game play was engaging and from what I remember, ammunition was not a problem for people like me with terrible aim. I think it was the best in the franchise and still remains so mostly due to the fact that the newest titles are just pretty much the same game with better graphics.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi moltenowl, thanks taking the time to read and comment. I like how you and N3r0TheH3r0 have referred to the offline modes, I have to admit that I did not consider that at the time of writing this blog and only considered the online aspect. I agree with what you have said especially that there are not too many enemies to the extent which it feels over the top, like with the later titles. I thought MW3 was very much over the top with enemies and explosions and also agree with you that it has become repackaged with the better graphics.

      Like

  3. Well, online is the most popular choice for gamers as the campaign is extremely short and the most fun part about any of the COD franchise is playing online with others players. Though, while it may be the most fun, it is also the most frustrating when it comes to re-spawning. I once played a match where I was killed +5 because of where I kept reviving. I wouldn’t call that match the funnest part of my experience online.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment